About Us

What We Believe

The United Methodist Church is a global denomination that opens hearts, opens minds, and opens doors through active engagement with our world. The mission of The United Methodist Church is to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world.


  • When you arrive parking is available on Holmes Street on the East side of the church, and in the large parking lot across Holmes Street.
  • Additional parking is available around the court square.
  • You may enter the building through the main sanctuary doors, on the east side where the church office is located, or on the west side of the sanctuary which leads directly to the nursery.
  • Dress covers a wide range, from business casual to suit and tie for the gentleman.
  • Our worship services are primarily traditional with some blended components

Our History

The United Methodist Church was formed when the Evangelical United Brethren Church and the Methodist Church merged in 1968. Both traditions have roots in the 1700s.

Today, The United Methodist Church is global, with more than 12 million members around the world. While our languages, cultures, and nations of origin may differ, a common mission and history unite us in powerful ways.

FUMC Lexington began its history with a small log church built in 1840 near Olive Branch in the northern part of the county. This was the first Methodist church in Henderson County. In 1906, The Methodist Church South was constructed on the corner of Church Street and Monroe Avenue. A vision began in 1943 of moving into a “debt-free” structure and a $140,000 Building Fund was created to help see this vision come to fruition. The building’s cornerstone was laid on October 7th, 1951 with a dedication taking place on May 8th, 1952.

Today, FUMC Lexington still worships in the building purchased from that fund. Many additions have been added, including the purchase of the Long Equipment Company building located directly behind the church in 1975.

The FUMC Lexington congregation continues to grow and work to find ways that we can carry out our mission of making disciples of Christ in Henderson County. We carry this rich tradition and history with us as we work in our community.


Hebrews 11:1 – “Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” As people of faith we live  by Jesus as our redeemer and savior. Through reading the holy scripture, listening to messages and living as disciples we live as people who have faith, speak hope and live love! 


We believe that the gospel message is one of Hope, Love and Grace. Come join us Sunday mornings to hear teachings, stories and connect with people of God.   

Sunday School: 9 am 
Sunday Service: 10:15 am 


We are committed to living out the command “love your neighbor as yourself” . Our church lives out this mission through serval missional efforts. Click below or go to the ministry tab for more information! 

Meet The Staff

Roger Brown


Ellen Scott


Lauren Gatlin

Director of Children’s Ministries

Josh Gatlin

Director of Music & Media

Patricia Western

Administrative Assistant

Candida James


Tara Dziadosz

Administrative Financial Assistant

Emily Maness

Nursery Attendant

2024-2026 List of CHURch leadership

Each year at charge conference a new class of leadership positions are elected to fill vacancies as members rotate off after fulfilling their term. As we begin a new calendar year, we welcome the incoming class and those returning in some cases, as permitted by the Book of Discipline, for another term. Below is our updated list of each leadership committee and its new members effective as of January 1, 2023.

Lay Leader

Works with the pastor to fulfill the mission and vision of the congregation.

Andy Anderson


Church Treasurer

Winnie Bunch

 Lay Delegate to Annual Conference

Serves as our congregation’s representative to the meeting of the Tennessee-West Kentucky Annual Conference each June.

Ray Marcum

(Grace Carter, Alternate)



Oversees the facilities and equipment of the church, approves all contracts, and maintains adequate building use policies and insurance coverage for the church.

Greg Crockett (chair), Kay Emerson, Wil Lane, Ray Marcum,  Zach Daniels, Elizabeth Holmes, Rena Lewis, David Brockman, Howard Douglas

Leadership Council

Provides oversight and direction for all the ministries of our church.

 Jack Hinson (chair), Donna Cagle, Tommy Whitwell, Nic Smith, Rachel Mobley, Benjamin Lewis, Warren Ramer, Ian Gorski, Rhonnie Bunch, Ray Marcum (delegate to AC), Andy Anderson (lay leader), John Allen Anderson (finance), Greg Crockett (trustees), Cary Holmes (SPRC chair), Roger Brown (pastor), Winnie Bunch (treasurer)

PAstor (Staff)-Parish Relations

Builds a strong positive relationship between staff and congregation, works with the pastor and other staff to fulfill their responsibilities, and serves as a liaison with the District Superintendent in providing adequate pastoral leadership for the congregation.

Cary Holmes(chair/2nd term), David Lewis, Charlie White, Chris Alexander, Alba Crockett, Steve Helms, Allison Gorski, Bryan Bunch, Andy Anderson (lay leader), Ray Marcum (delegate to AC)


Oversees the financial health of the church by setting a budget, approving distribution of funds and financial campaigns/requests, and serving as stewards of collected funds.

John Allen Anderson (chair/2nd term), Brooke Hinson, Tony Holmes, Stacie Stowe, Tommy Gordon, Drew Bunch, Winnie Bunch (treasurer), Greg Corckett (trustees), Andy Anderson (lay leader), Roger Brown (pastor), Ray Marcum (delegate to AC), Jack Hinson (leadership chair), TBD (SPRC)

Gifts Discovery

 Helps members of the congregation claim their gifts of service in the church, and finds leadership for the various ministry teams in the church.

Roger Brown (pastor, chair), Sophie Lewis, Reggie Henderson, Tommy Whitwell, Kay Henderson, Hayden Gorski, Rob Thomas, Grace Carter, Camille Clampitt, Paula Walker Andy Anderson (lay leader)